Do Social Media Sites Ever DIE?

 Myspace is 4 losers graffiti; Mulia photography

Myspace is 4 losers graffiti; Mulia photography

Do social media sites ever die? Apparently the answer is NO; at least that is the case with MySpace. I was curious if I could access my MySpace account which has been dormant for about 6 years, and with just a little mind jogging (for passwords), I was able to hack into my own account. What I found was trippy… Like a segment of my life frozen in time including some commentary on a Flaming Lamborghini? Don’t ask because I seriously cannot tell you what that was about!

 MySpace

MySpace

MySpace was launched in 2003. It was the social networking site of the time which justified the $580 million price tag when it was sold in 2005. In 2008 MySpace was overtaken by Facebook in the number of unique users. Since then, it has declined in spite of several redesigns (according to my trusting crowdsourced friend named Wikipedia). Then in Sept. 2012, the website was jointly purchased by Justin Timberlake and Specific Media LLC. Both the ‘old’ myspace and the ‘NEW MySpace’ have had a strong emphasis on pop culture and music – thus the Justin connection.

“New MySpace,” as it is called now has a different URL (new.myspace.com) and requires users to create a new account. It seems that the New MySpace is trying to differentiate itself from the OLD, but you can still access the OLD, obviously.  Interestingly you can sign in using your Facebook or Twitter account…clearly they are not trying to compete. Where Facebook resides in the social space, MySpace is trying to emphasize its roots in the music/pop culture space.

Back to the initial question: Do social media sites ever die? In the case of MySpace the answer is no. So what if you want to commit social media homicide and remove yourself entirely. I researched this process as well. Because after all, it is a little disconcerting that my information lived online for over 6 years without me maintaining it or even knowing it is there truthfully!

The instructions are not as funny as I ‘heard’ them to be – but basically you go to account settings and click “account cancellation” – they send you a confirmation – you confirm and supposedly it is gone. They did include this line: If you do not receive the confirmation email, please remove all content from your profile, and enter the text 'Remove Profile' in the 'About Me' section. Good to  know!!

For those of you who criticize my (now) Facebook skills: If it brings you any solace, I was just as bad about checking MySpace! Talk about Omnichannel Communication!!

 Omnichannel Kristen

Omnichannel Kristen